Past/Upcoming Games Click to view

About us

About us

Rugby Africa, previously known as the Confederation of African Rugby (CAR) exists since 1986, it is one of the six regional associations of World Rugby. It assembles the African nations that practise 15s rugby, 7S rugby and Women’s rugby. Rugby Africa organizes the Africa Cup Division 1 – 2 and 3 and Sevens tournaments.

The Confederation was officially launched in Tunis. The inaugural members at the meeting were Tunisia, Morocco, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Tanzania, Kenya, Seychelles and Madagascar. A meeting was held in July 1992 in Casablanca with the view of integrating South Africa into the confederation. The first organized competitions were the qualifications for Rugby World Cups 1995 and 1999.

Rugby Africa developed between 1995 and 2000, when Rugby Europe, in agreement with World Rugby, refocused on Europe, leaving with Rugby Africa the development of rugby on the African continent. From 2000, it started to organize a continental competition : the African Cup (CAN). This competition will extend with the Second Division created in 2001, on the occasion of the qualifications for the World Cup 2003, which is called the Rugby Africa Trophy, and the Third Division entitled Rugby Africa Development Trophy. These three competitions take place, allowing exceptions, every year.

Several African teams participate in the biggest world competitions. South Africa is a regular customer of the Rugby World Cup and already counts 6 participations, in 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015. Namibia is the second union to have represented Africa in this competition, with 5 participations in 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015 ; Zimbabwe participated twice in 1987, 1991 and Ivory Coast once in 1995.

In 2017, Rugby Africa’s competitions were redesigned. The continent counts about 10 tournaments : Rugby Africa Gold Cup (6 teams), Rugby Africa Silver Cup (6 teams), Rugby Africa Bronze Cup (4 teams), 2 regional tournaments, 2 Sevens tournaments and the U20 tournament.

To date Rugby Africa counts 38 members, among whom 22 full or associate members of World Rugby, 10 full or associated members of Rugby Africa and 16 new countries working with Rugby Africa.

Rugby Africa also put the emphasis on the training’s and the workshops to help the development of rugby in Africa.



* World Rugby and Rugby Africa Member
* Rugby Africa Member
* Rugby Africa Affiliated
* Non Active Countries

Today, the African continent is made of 57 countries. Rugby Africa for its part has 41 unions by its side to develop rugby. 22 of them are World Rugby full or associated members, 13 are Rugby Africa full or associated members and 6 are not members yet but do work with Rugby Africa.

A union can ask to become an associated member of Rugby Africa. If it meets our membership criteria (good management, good organization, development of rugby) it stands a good chance to be accepted. The same union will then have to wait 2 years minimum and work on satisfying additional  criteria before becoming a full member of Rugby Africa. No sooner than 4 years later the union will be allowed to present its application to World Rugby for affiliation.

Click on the countries on the map to be redirected to their social networks or websites (if unions have one).
To get more information on the various unions, click here