Past/Upcoming Games Click to view

Eleven changes for Kenya ah...

Eleven changes for Kenya ahead of second test

Nairobi, 16 August 2021 — There are eleven changes to the Kenya squad that started Thursday’s first test against South Africa ahead of today’s second test against the same opponent in Stellenbosch at 4.00pm EAT.

Five of these changes are in the forwards where Juliet Nyambura, Evelyne Kalemera, Bernadette Olesia and Leah Wambui who all came in from the bench on Thursday making the starting fifteen while Sheila Chajira who was uninvolved, starts at blindside.

Linet Moraa is the only back who is retained as Mitch Ocholla hands starts to Olympian Judith Auma who came in from the bench last Thursday as well as her fellow Olympians Grace Adhiambo Okulu, Christabel Lindo, Philadelphia Olando, Camilla Cynthia Atieno and Janet Okello who make their first appearances of the tour.

Joy Kendagor, Prisca Nyerere, Sophia Ayieta, Sinaida Nyachio,Anne Njeri  and Mercy Migongo are all rested for today’s fixture.

Commenting on the changes, Ocholla said, “It will be exciting to see the sevens players coming in on the 16th, they’re a bit more experienced and understand the test matches environment much better.”

The Lionesses lost the opening fixture 66-0 to the Springbok
Women and are using this test series as a build to their Rugby World Cup Repechage qualification match against Colombia set for 25 August at Nairobi’s Nyayo National Stadium.

Lionesses v South Africa

15.Janet Okello

14. Linet Moraa

13.Cynthia Camila Atieno

12. Philadelphia Olando

11. Christabel Lindo

10.Grace Adhiambo Okulu

9. Judith Auma

1. Juliet Nyambura (captain)

2. Staycy Atieno

3. Evelyne Kalemera

4. Bernadette Olesia

5. Peruce Muyuka

6. Mitchelle Akinyi

7. Sheila Chajira

8. Leah Wambui


16. Rose Otieno

17. Knight Otwoma

18.Diana Kemunto

19 .Naomi Amuguni

20. Laureen Akoth

21. Faith Marindany

22. Anne Goretty

23. Winnie Owino