Past/Upcoming Games Click to view

Chipu begin Barthes Cup pre...

Chipu begin Barthes Cup preparations

Kenya rugby union

Chipu, as the Kenya national U20 squad is referred to, are the reigning Barthes Cup champions after defeating Namibia 21-18 in the final in Nairobi in April last year

NAIROBI, Kenya, January 9, 2020 – A 43 man Kenya national U20 squad has been selected by Head Coach Paul Odera ahead of this year’s Africa U20 Championship, The Barthes Cup, whose dates and venue will be announced by Rugby Africa in due course.The squad began training on Tuesday 7 January 2020. It was selected after a series of trials conducted by Odera and his technical team.

Speaking after the final trials in Nairobi on Sunday 5 January 2020, Odera said, “It is good to see that we have a lot of talent across the country and what is very exciting is that the boys are keen and ready to learn. Today’s goal is to see which of the players we saw during the regions can step up and fulfill the potential we saw.”

Chipu, as the Kenya national U20 squad is referred to, are the reigning Barthes Cup champions after defeating Namibia 21-18 in the final in Nairobi in April last year. This victory earned them the right to represent Africa at the World Rugby Junior Trophy in Brazil where they finished sixth overall.

Final Chipu 2020 Squad

Postion Surname Name DOB Club/School
Loose Head Prop Siminyu Andrew 21/5/2000 University of Johannesburg
Loose Head Prop Njenga Ian 04-03-00 Nondies RFC
Loose Head Prop Kiarie Charles 21/11/2001 Alliance High School
Hooker Mulaa Emmanuel 15/12/2000 Menengai Oilers RFC
Hooker Mwaura Edward 26/8/2000 Menengai Oilers RFC
Tighthead Prop Masheti Ian 05-08-00 Resolution Impala Saracens
Tighthead Prop Rahedi Rotuk 24/8/2000 Unattached
Tighthead Prop Obure Collins 29/2/2000 Blackblad RFC
Tighthead Prop Ngige Tariq 19/5/2001 Resolution Impala Saracens
LH Lock Wekesa Kevin 08-07-00 Kabras Sugar RFC
LH Lock Aduda Frank 02-08-00 Resolution Impala Saracens
LH Lock Okeyo Thomas 31/1/2000 Top Fry Nakuru RFC
TH Lock Ayoo Hibrahim 06-08-02 Menengai Oilers RFC
TH Lock Wandera George 17/9/2000 Homeboyz RFC
Backrow – 6 Were Samuel 24/5/2000 Menengai Oilers RFC
Backrow – 6 Kangethe Julius 13/10/2001 Muranga RFC
Backrow – 6 Mwalati Reinhard 10-04-01 Homeboyz RFC
Backrow – 7 Kahi Darrensheldon 03-07-00 Blackblad RFC
Backrow – 7 McGreevy James 03-06-00 Kenya Harlequin F.C
Backrow – 7 Weru Joshua 10-03-03 Kenya Harlequin F.C
Backrow – 7 Indeche Collins 26/4/2001 Kabras Sugar RFC
No.8 Kyriazi George 13/5/2001 Unattached
No. 8 Juma Reagan 13/7/2001 KCB RFC
No. 8 Wamalwa Ian 27/2/2000 Stanbic Mwamba RFC
Scrum half Mweti Muriithi 14/2/2001 Nondies RFC
Scrum half Mwangi James 11-02-01 Resolution Impala Saracens
Flyhalf Coulson Dominic 04-02-00 University of Exeter
Flyhalf Ashley Owain 22/3/2001 Cardiff University
Halfback Onyango Fidens Tony 12-05-00 N.Suburbs RFC
Flyhalf Wamalwa Amon 21/1/2001 Homeboyz RFC
Inside Centre Okoth John 28/4/2000 Top Fry Nakuru RFC
Inside Centre Oloo Shem 02-02-02 N.Suburbs RFC
Inside Centre Kimani Brian 02-01-00 Top Fry Nakuru RFC
Inside Centre Kolian Elvin 11-06-01 Nakuru High School
Outside Center Tendwa Valerian 01-05-00 Kabras Sugar RFC
Outside Center Myatt – Taylor Thomas 05-08-02 Milton Abbey
Outside Center Mwaura Samuel 31/12/2001 Top Fry Nakuru RFC
Left Wing Weru Jeremy 18/4/2001 Kenya Harlequin F.C
Left Wing Omwoyo Keith 10-09-00 Nyamira
Right Wing Nyamweya Adam 05-07-00 Mean Machine
Right Wing Lewis Mark 16/1/2001 Vandals/St. Patrick’s High School Iten
Fullback Matoka Matoka 31/12/2000 Strathmore Leos
Fullback Onzere Arnold 24/4/2001 Homeboyz RFC
Fullback Omanyo Walter 18/12/2000 Strathmore Leos

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of Kenya Rugby Union (KRU).