Past/Upcoming Games Click to view

Nigeria Rugby Sevens names ...

Nigeria Rugby Sevens names squad, arrive South Africa for Olympic Qualifiers

The tournament will be held on the 8th and 9th of November, 2019 at the Bosman Stadium in Johannesburg

LAGOS, Nigeria, November 7, 2019 – Coach Bronson Weir today announced the Nigeria Rugby Men’s Sevens squad that will be on duty at the 2019 Rugby Africa Men’s Sevens Tournament in Johannesburg, South Africa.The tournament will be held on the 8th and 9th of November, 2019 at the Bosman Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa where Fourteen teams will compete: Zimbabwe, Kenya, Uganda, Madagascar, Zambia, Tunisia, Senegal, Morocco, Namibia, Ghana, Botswana, Mauritius, Côte d’Ivoire and Nigeria.

The Tournaments will be played over two match days and the winner of “Africa Men’s Sevens” will be 2019 African Champion and also qualify to the Summer Olympics Games in Tokyo, Japan in 2020.

Nigeria has been drawn to play defending champions; Zimbabwe on 8th November 2019 at 10:00am (South African time), 8:00am Nigerian time.

“The boys have worked hard over the last two and half weeks, we have had to replace a few players due to injuries suatained whilst on club duty. Thankgod Okafor- Portugal (Ankle)  and Alex Onyeahasi- Germany (Harmstring). Coach Bronson was at Chester, UK to have a look at the UK based boys at the AF International 7s where Nigeria played against USA, France, Ireland and Jamaica and we have injected a few of those boys from into this squad. We look forward to seeing what the team can produce over the weekend”.  says Teams Manager; Dele Coker.

The team arrived Johannesburg via Kenya Airways and will be playing a warm up match today against Centurion 7s.

Black Stallions will be captained by Onoru Jatto.

Livestream link

1. Onoru Jatto (Captain)
2. Azeez Ladipo
3. Nuhu Ibrahim
4. Declan Nwachukwu
5. David Oyekanmi
6. Isaac Agholor
7. Samuel Ekpo
8. Joshua Etim
9. Akpabio Samuel
10. Blaise Felix
11. Chinedu Joseph
12. Felix Maduchem

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of Nigeria Rugby Football Federation (NRFF).