Past/Upcoming Games Click to view

Victoria Cup 2023: Four Nat...

Victoria Cup 2023: Four Nations, One Victor


The four nation Victoria Cup is a rugby union tournament contested by Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe on a home and away basis. The tournament was originally played as a Tri-Nations competition in 2010 between Uganda, Kenya and Zimbabwe but was briefly discontinued in 2012 due to the withdrawal of Uganda and Zimbabwe as a result of lack of funding.


The tournament last took place in 2019 due to disruptions to sports activities caused by the Covid-19 global pandemic.

The Victoria Cup is named after Lake Victoria which straddles the borders of both Kenya and Uganda and the Victoria Falls which also straddles the borders of both Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Victoria Cup returns in full swing in 2023 with the goal of re-igniting the tournament as the premier international Cup competition for the four nations driving competitiveness and performance with Six Test calendar for both Men’s and Women’s XVs Teams.

It will also serve as an opportunity to build a solid U-20 program as the next tier for all 4 nations for both Men’s and Women’s teams.

The Victoria Cup will also be used to build new fan engagement experience to grow beyond traditional fans by creating linkage to new tourist offerings from all four nations. Plus, it will identify solid corporate and government partners to grow and build Victoria Cup 2.0.

Tournament Format

  • All participating countries travel to Uganda and play each other once.
  • Uganda to host with travelling teams covering their travel costs and Uganda Rugby Union covers accommodation, meals and in-land travel.

Tournament Days

The Victoria Cup tournament begins on October 28 and continue on November 1, November 5 and end on November 11 2023.